top of page
Search
  • lynnmurphy123

Peer Teaching

'Peer Teaching' is a module we have as part of the 2nd year of the professional masters in art education at NCAD that allows us to teach our disciplines to our college peers. The purpose was to share our ideas and skills in a specific medium with the class to help them teach it in a post-primary setting. As we all had to do a different discipline we learned a lot. The days were very busy and we were all tired afterwards but it was so rewarding and beneficial.


As a lot of my class had never done batik I decided to teach them. It was challenging as this usually takes a few weeks but the class were very fast and produced lovely work. The main thing was that they understood the process to teach it in school. My lecturer was very good and lent me a batik pot. I bought wax, tjanting tools, wooden frames and dye. My aunt gave me calico from her curtain shop which was great!

Learning from peers and colleagues is a great way to develop and gain new skills. Having such a supportive class that I can always ask for advice and ideas has been incredible support over the last two years of the Masters. I feel very lucky to have such a supportive group and hope we all keep in touch in the future.

Serena waxing her octopus batik



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page